How to Recover Your Wasted Potential with One Mindset Shift

Matt Young
2 min readOct 6, 2021

I am capable of great things. I worry that circumstances have conspired against me to inhibit those great things. I worry that I have conspired against myself. It is one of my great shames. I despair at the fact. I get quite depressed about it.

The fact is that this is a universal feeling. Everybody feels this way. No one is operating at 100% all the time. Doubtless those that have achieved their potential feel great about it.

One of the facts of life is that no matter which peak you reach, you’ll find a higher one. So even if you feel you have reached your potential you will seek out a greater, or different challenge. You will always be in pursuit.

If you can please yourself with the advantage that you have gained, you will be a lot happier. Is this not the pinnacle of your capacity, at present? Is this not the result of all you have done?

If you look at yourself and think you’ve not reached a benchmark, ask how you have determined this benchmark. How have you determined what your capacity is, and where you should be? Presumably by comparing yourself to other people.

You judge yourself against others. People who look like you, people who remind you of yourself. People who belong to your social circle, or people far outside your social circle who you aspire to be like. You look at them and measure yourself against them. You determine that you have the same capacity as them, but have failed to achieve the same…

--

--

Matt Young

Matt Young is a writer and performer based in Melbourne, Australia.